The Ontario Government, in partnership with the Federal Government, is providing all 444 Ontario municipalities with one-time direct emergency funding through the Safe Restart Agreement. There is up to $1.6 billion available in the first round of funding. This funding is meant to assist municipalities with protecting citizens health and well being while still delivering critical public services (e.g. public transit and shelters). There will be three overarching phases of funding available to municipalities:

  • The first phase of funding will be received in Fall 2020, with $695 million being made available to assist municipalities with addressing operating pressures related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Up to $695 million in additional funding will be available through phase two, which will be provided after municipalities have provided the province with information on their estimated COVID-19 related financial pressures. This funding will be allocated on a per household basis and would be shared 50/50 between upper- and lower-tier municipalities.
  • In addition, $660 million is being provided in the first phase for transit funding to 110 municipalities with transit systems. The funding can be used for immediate relief of transit pressures.
  • Additionally, the province is providing $212 million through the Social Services Relief Fund to help vulnerable people find shelter.

The full breakdown of allocated funds through phase 1 can be found here.